World of Learning Institute Podcast and Newsletter
We Do This Everyday!
Thinking About Student Voice #38
0:00
-4:07

Thinking About Student Voice #38

We Do This Everyday - Season 2 Episode 16

Hi WOL Friends,

Today, I will be flying solo and sharing my thoughts on how we can better engage and uplift student voices in education.

My passion for this topic started back in 1997 when I attended my daughter's IEP meeting and was frustrated to see her potential minimized. Since then, I've made it my mission to empower students and ensure their voices are heard.

My granddaughter Maizie recently celebrated her 4th birthday with a bunch of curious and eager children, which reaffirmed my belief that kids are always eager to learn, explore, and succeed. And it's this belief that drives me to continue to lift up their voices.

Maizie the Mermaid turns 4!

Last week, I had the pleasure of interviewing Abby, a senior at Turkeyfoot, who is taking our new Latin 1 course (You’ll hear more from her next week). Her poise and insights were truly inspiring. This week, I am excited to speak with one of our ASL students and her parent, and I am also following a fantastic student podcast called Niam's Newsletter. Niam, also known as the Global Warming Kid, is doing some incredible work, and I hope to have him as a guest on our podcast soon.

Niam’s Newsletter
Land Pollution
Listen now (9 min) | #SaveSoil Save Soil…
Listen now

Although I'm still learning how to trim audio and mix in my intro, doing this podcast and newsletter brings me both joy (And a little anxiety). I love hearing about how people are pushing the boundaries of education and contemplating what learning truly is. I'm grateful to be part of the WOL team, and I'm thankful for the opportunity to expand what we do and how we serve our students.

Whether you need a single course, like Abby taking Latin, or you're struggling to find a math, science, or world language teacher, we're here to help. So, please don't hesitate to contact us at pmulroy@worldoflearninginstitute.com.

Thank you for joining me, and have a fantastic week.

Be well,

Pat

0 Comments
World of Learning Institute Podcast and Newsletter
We Do This Everyday!
We do our best each day to be authentic, relevant and engaging in the virtual education space. This podcast will help you see that you, too, can survive and thrive in the new and evolving world of blended and hybrid platforms for learning.
For many years the WOL Institute has provided the BEST in online virtual learning for K-12 schools. We hope our experience in the virtual world will help you navigate and succeed.