Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Slow Replies, What's Important

Prelude to Season 3 - #4

Go SLOW!

Slow down she says, yes me, reminding myself and my friends that everything is NOT super important. For the most part, every student will find their way to the class they need, the teacher who will inspire them, and the subject or course they didn’t know they would love - at least at the World of Learning Institute.

I heard the song Does Anyone Really Know What Time It Is? By Chicago a few weeks ago, around the same time, I read a post by Adam Grant about slow replies. 

Both made me realize how often I get myself off track when I am trying to support too many projects, people, or ideas. And I love projects, people, and ideas.

Granted
Granted: The case for slow replies, and insights on facing fear and finding hope
Weekends and holidays shouldn’t be time to recover. They should be time to rejoice. Burnout cultures exhaust us through the week and force us to recharge during our time off. Healthy cultures provide daily space to refuel. Some perspectives that have helped me refuel lately…
Read more

But at what cost?

Am I spending time with my family and friends? Am I reading fiction and mucking around in the garden? Have I exercised? Am I cooking meals that I love - and love me?

flowers from my garden

 

I started thinking about how I (we) can we prioritize what I (we) need and what I (we) want to do. Where do I (we) put our energy and how do I (we) get ourselves off track? 

And yes, we do have control over where our time goes and how much of it we use for what matters the most to us. 

If you need help with World Languages, Calculus, or Chemistry, the World of Learning Institute can help.

Have a great week,

Pat

0 Comments
World of Learning Institute Podcast and Newsletter
World of Learning Institute Podcast and Newsletter
Authors
Pat Mulroy